India beat Sri Lanka to become the Asia Cup champion

India beat Sri Lanka to become the Asia Cup champion, India defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets to win the Asia Cup title. This is the eighth time India has won the tournament.

India chased down the meager target of 51 runs presented by Sri Lanka without losing any wicket in just 6.1 overs. Ishan Kisan scored 23 runs and Shubman Gill scored 27 runs for India.

Earlier, the Sri Lankan team was included in the lowest total in the history of the Asia Cup. In the final against India, Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first before being bowled out in 15.2 overs.


The Sri Lankan batsmen proved to be harmless in front of India’s right-arm fast bowler Mohammad Siraj. None of the Sri Lankan batsmen could stay at the crease for long.

Asia Cup Winner 2023Opener Kushal Perera returned to the pavilion before opening his account. After that, another opener, Pathum Nissan, was also dismissed by scoring two runs. As the third wicket, Sadira Samrabikram returned to the pavilion for zero runs. As the fourth wicket, Charitha Asalanka was also dismissed for zero runs.


Similarly, Dhananjay Dr. Silva was dismissed as the fifth wicket. He also couldn’t advance beyond four runs. As the sixth wicket, captain Dasun Sanka was dismissed for zero runs. As the seventh wicket, wicketkeeper batsman Kushal Mendis got out after scoring 17 runs. He faced 34 balls and hit three fours. He is the only player to score double figures for Sri Lanka.

India beat Sri Lanka to become the Asia Cup champion | Asia cup 2023

Asia cup 2023, Dunith Vellalaghe returned to the pavilion as the eighth wicket. He faced only 8 runs from 21 balls. Sri Lanka lost Pramod Madusan as the ninth wicket. He got out scoring one run. Sri Lanka lost Mathisa Pathirana for zero runs as the last wicket.

Asia Cup finalSri Lanka lost the first by one run, the second by eight runs, the third by eight runs, the fourth by eight runs, the fifth by 12 runs, the sixth by 12 runs, the seventh by 33 runs, the eighth by 40 runs, the ninth by 50 runs and the tenth wicket by 50 runs. 29-year-old Siraj showed the way to the pavilion for 6 of Sri Lanka’s top seven batsmen. He took 6 wickets for 21 runs in seven overs.

This is also his best performance in ODI cricket. Sri Lanka’s first wicket was taken by Jasprit Bumrah. Sri Lanka’s eighth wicket was taken by Hardik Pandya. Hardik also took the ninth and tenth wickets.

The lowest total scored by any team in the history of Asia Cup is 87 runs. In the Asia Cup held in 2000, the Bangladeshi team was bowled out for 87 runs against Pakistan. In that match, Bangladesh was bowled out in 34.2 overs.

Another bad record of the lowest total in the Asia Cup was also held by Bangladesh. In the 1986 Asia Cup, the Bangladeshi team scored 94 runs against Pakistan and was bowled out. In that match, the Bangladeshi team was bowled out in 35.3 overs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button